Compare
notchman vs NotchNook. Side by side, facts from their own site.
NotchNook, by lo.cafe, was one of the first notch apps people paid for: widgets, live activities and a file shelf in the notch, with a nice handle on screens without one. It is sold as a $25 licence or a $3 monthly subscription, and on Setapp. Its page describes it only briefly, so where this page says "not stated" it means just that.
Facts about NotchNook are from its own site, read on 2026-10-04. If something is out of date, email hello@notchman.com.
SWIPE TO SEE BOTH APPS →
| notchman | NotchNook | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $4.99 until 15 October, then $19.99, one-time | $25 one-time, or $3 a month |
| Focus | Twenty-one daily tools in a tabbed panel | Widgets, live activities, a file shelf |
| File shelf | With AirDrop | |
| Dictation and rewriting in any app | ⌥⌘K and ⌥⌘L | Not stated |
| Clipboard history and snippets | Not stated | |
| Calendar, tasks, reminders, notes | Not stated | |
| Now playing | With karaoke lyrics | Not stated |
| Claude and Codex usage limits | Not stated | |
| Teleprompter and camera mirror | Not stated | |
| Works on Macs without a notch | ||
| Data | Stays on your Mac, no account | Not stated |
| Macs per license | 3 Macs | 5 Macs (one-time), 2 (subscription) |
| Requirements | macOS 14+, Apple silicon and Intel | macOS 14.6 or later |
| Refund | 14 days | 15 days |
Only in notchman
- Dictation into any app (⌥⌘K) and rewriting any selected text with one shortcut (⌥⌘L)
- Clipboard history with snippets, Paste as… and Grab text
- Tasks, reminders, notes, timers and a calendar
- Now playing with lyrics
- Claude and Codex usage limits
- Teleprompter and camera mirror
- No subscription option to drift into
Choose notchman if
Choose notchman if you want to talk instead of typing (⌥⌘K) and fix any text with one key (⌥⌘L), in every app, plus your clipboard, tasks, calendar and timers in the notch. For a fifth of NotchNook's price at launch, paid once.
Questions. About the two.
Is NotchNook still on sale?
lo.cafe's site was unreachable when we checked on 4 October 2026, and notchnook.com says "coming soon". The facts here come from lo.cafe's NotchNook page as it was in August 2026.
Which is cheaper?
notchman: $4.99 until 15 October, then $19.99, once. NotchNook is $25 once or $3 a month.
Can I run both?
Not usefully. Both take over the notch area, so pick one.
Try notchman on your own notch. One-time purchase, 14-day refund, everything stays on your Mac.
Updated 2026-10-04. NotchNook is a trademark of its owner; this page is an independent comparison.